Goddard Flight Patch

The Goddard Flight Patch
Launch date: May 20th 2011

The Goddard Flight Patch honors the man for whom the flight is named.  The triangular shape pays homage to Robert H. Goddard’s design of the world's first liquid-fueled rocket launched on March 16, 1926.  From there the patch expands to show the vast opportunities his vision has led us. From the Earthrise Mission launch point of Spaceport America, on past the Earth’s horizon and into the starry heavens.

New Frontiers Flight Patch

New Frontiers Flight Patch
Scheduled Launch Date: Fall 2011

The New Frontier Flight patch begins with a star burst launching from Kennedy Space Center in Florida.  The spirit of Astronaut L. Gordon Cooper and his realization of space travel (represented by the astronaut symbol) are carried to the heavens on the wings of SpaceX’s Falcon 9.  The Mercury and Gemini symbols represent Cooper’s past missions and the 9 stars represent the 9 engines of the Falcon rocket that will take us to the future.

NASA Expedition 20 Mission Patch

The NASA Expedition 20 Mission Patch
Date of Issue: August 28th 2009

The Expedition 20 patch symbolizes a new era in space exploration with the first six-person crew living and working onboard ISS and represents the significance of the ISS to the exploration goals of NASA and its international partners. The six gold stars signify the men and women of the crew. The astronaut symbol extends from the base of the patch to the star at the top to represent the international team, both on the ground and on orbit, that are working together to further our knowledge of living and working in space. The space station in the foreground represents where we are now and the important role it is playing towards meeting our exploration goals. The knowledge and expertise developed from these advancements will enable us to once again leave low earth orbit for the new challenges of establishing a permanent presence on the Moon and then on to Mars. The blue, gray and red arcs represent our exploration goals as symbols of the Earth, Moon and Mars.